Housing Choice Voucher Program

The Housing Choice Voucher program is the federal government's major program for assisting very low-income families, the elderly, and the disabled to afford decent, safe, and sanitary housing in the private market. Since housing assistance is provided on behalf of the family or individual, participants are able to find their own housing, including single-family homes, townhouses and apartments. The Housing Authority of Lincoln County (HALC) manages 570 vouchers for Lincoln County. The participant is free to choose any housing that meets the requirements of the program and is not limited to units located in subsidized housing projects. A housing subsidy is paid to the landlord directly by the PHA on behalf of the participating family. The family then pays the difference between the actual rent charged by the landlord and the amount subsidized by the program.

The Housing Choice Voucher Program serves income eligible families (consisting of two or more persons) OR singles if at least 62 years old or disabled.  The wait list is currently closed to single applicants who are not disabled or 62 years or older.

At least one household member is required to have eligible immigration status.

The following household income restrictions apply.

Family Gross Income Limits
May 15, 2023
** Single person: Waiting list is closed to persons who are not elderly or disabled.
Payment Standard
October 1, 2023
Bedroom size01234
Payment standard$1,021$1,069$1,401$1,871$2,270

Our agency jurisdiction covers Lincoln County. However, once on the program, participants may choose to transfer to other areas of the country (restrictions apply)

Once you receive your Voucher, you will be able to search for a housing unit owned by a private landlord. The Voucher holder pays approximately 30% of their adjusted annual income as monthly rent to the Landlord and the Housing Authority Voucher pays the balance.  The family is responsible for any deposits required by the landlord.  Payment Standards listed above are used in determining the amount of assistance each household can receive.

Important: Update the Housing Authority with any changes to your mailing address. All waiting list notifications are made through the U.S. postal service.

The Housing Authority of Lincoln County does not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, religion, national origin, age, sexual orientation or gender identity, color, familial status, disability, marital status, or source of income.